Our Mission

Prairie Sunset Trail tressel bridge

The mission of Prairie Travelers is to develop, maintain and promote the Prairie Sunset Trail. Our vision is that the Prairie Sunset Trail connects neighbors and communities; promoting healthy, active lifestyles, stewardship of nature and appreciation of the region’s history. Prairie Travelers is an all volunteer non-profit, and is the cooperative effort of residents, local trail groups and outdoor enthusiasts dedicated to expanding recreational opportunities in the region through the development of rails converted to trails.

About Prairie Travelers, Inc

Many of our ancestors settled Kansas by traveling in covered wagons over historical trails such as the Santa Fe Trail and later on steam railroads. That is why Prairie Travelers, along with other state rail to trails groups, proposes to establish a network of linear trails and other recreational trails in Kansas. A resolution passed by the Kansas Legislature in 1991, authorizing the creation of a Statewide Heritage Trails Plan. For the latest plan visit the Kansas Statewide Rail Trails Plan.

Prairie Travelers is the trustee holding title to the 8 miles of railbanked trail near Garden Plain, KS in southwest Sedgwick County. The “Prairie Sunset Trail” extends from 295th street west to 167th street west. Notices of Interim Use were issued by the Surface Transportation Board under the authority of the National Trails Act (http://www.nps.gov/nts/legislation.html) to Prairie Travelers. Rail-trails are corridors railbanked under the authority of the 1983 amendment of the National Trails Act. They are considered out-of-service corridors, protected for future national need, which are in the interim available for recreational use.

The Prairie Sunset Trail extension from 167th St W to Hoover Rd (by the Big Ditch) was built with an agreement with the City of Wichita and Sedgwick County in 2015 to complete the trail into the City for commuting and recreational needs. Once a low water bridge is built over the Cowskin Creek the Prairie Sunset Trail will be 15 miles in length.

Prairie Travelers, Inc is a non-profit, 501(c)3 organization.



AmeriCorp NCCC volunteers made were here for 13 weeks helping us with trails on both sides of town! It was a lot of work but a great deal of progress took place and they were a lot of fun!

Unicycle rider review of the Prairie Sunset Trail

Click here to visit our Facebook page

T-Shirts

tshirt image
Show your spirit! The proceeds of all t-shirt sales go directly to Prairie Travelers’ mission. The t-shirts cost $15.00 each and come in both men’s and women’s designs.

The Prairie Sunset Trail t-shirts above are available at Bicycle Pedaler, Heartland Cycle, Continental Cyclery, and Bicycle X-Change Shops.

Contact Information

President

Larry Hatfield
ph. 316-253-1807
lhatfield6@gmail.com

Secretary

Ruth Holliday
ph. 316-685-4545
bpedaler@sbcglobal.net

Mailing Address

Prairie Travelers, Inc.
P.O. Box 781033
Wichita, KS 67278-1033
316-641-4030
prairietravelers@yahoo.com

Associated Kansas Organizations

Blue River Rail Trail
OPEN: 9 trail miles
PLANNED: 12 miles (Marysville to Neb. state line.)
Phone: 785-562-5455
Email
blueriverrailtrail.org

Flint Hills Nature Trail
OPEN: 54 trail miles
PLANNED: 117 miles (Osawatomie, Ottawa, Vassar, Osage City, Council Grove, Herington)
Phone: 913-755-4192
kanzatrails.org
flinthillstrail.org

Great Osage Trail
PLANNED: 13 miles (Oxford, Wellington)
Phone: 316-409-3194
Email

Landon Nature Trail
OPEN: 15 trail miles
PLANNED: 38 miles (Topeka, Overbrook, Pomona)
Phone: 785-862-6551
Email
landontrail.org

Meadowlark Trail
OPEN: 5 MILES
planned: 13 miles (Lindsborg, McPherson)
Phone: 620-241-4687
Email
centralkansastrails.org

Prairie Sunset Trail
OPEN: 15 trail miles (Wichita, Goddard, Garden Plain)
Phone: 316-685-4545
Email
prairietravelers.org

Quivira Trail
PLANNED: 38 miles (Lyons, Lorraine, Beaver)
Phone: 620-408-9109
Email

Redbud Trail
OPEN:: 3 trail miles
Planned: 21 MILES (Wichita, Andover, Augusta)
Phone: 316-733-4982
aartitrail.wordpress.com

Short Grass Prairie Trail
PLANNED: 78 miles (Englewood, Ashland, Protection, Coldwater, Coats, Belvedere, Wilmore)
Phone: 620-408-9109
Email

Southwind Rail Trail
OPEN: 6.5 miles (Iola, Humboldt)
Phone: 620-365-8128
Email
thriveallencounty.org

Spirit Wind Trail
PLANNED: 10.7 miles (Jetmore, Hanston)
Phone: 620-408-9109
Email

Sunflower Santa Fe Trail
OPEN: 4 trail miles
PLANNED: 33 miles (McPherson,Galva, Canton, Lehigh, Hillsboro, Marion)
Phone: 620-241-0350
Email
centralkansastrails.org

Wam-Sag-Man Trail
PLANNED: 15 miles (Wamego, St. George, Manhattan)
Phone: 785-494-2319
wam-sag-man.org

Western Sky Trail
PLANNED: 19 miles (Chanute, Fredonia)
Phone: 620-431-9210
Email

Allied Trail Groups

Trails at Kansas state parks and lakes
Kansas Trails Council
kansastrailscouncil.org
naturalkansas.org

Natural Kansas

National Trail Resources

Wichita City Council

455 N Main St, 1st Floor
Wichita, Ks 67202
(316) 268-4331
(316) 858-7743 (Fax)

Mayor Jeff Longwell
jlongwell@wichita.gov

Lavonta Williams – District I
lkwilliams@wichita.gov

Pete Meitzner – District II
pmeitzner@wichita.gov

James Clendenin – District III
jclendenin@wichita.gov

Jeff Blubaugh – District IV
jblubaugh@wichita.gov

Bryan Frye – District V
bfrye@wichita.gov

Janet Miller – District VI
jlmiller@wichita.gov

Board of Sedgwick County Commissioners

525 N Main, Suite 320
Wichita, Ks 67203
(316) 660-9300
(316) 383-8275 (Fax)

Dave Unruh – 1st District (Chairman)
Dave.Unruh@sedgwick.gov

Michael O’Donnell – 2nd District (Chair Pro Tem)
Michael.O’Donnell@sedgwick.gov

David Dennis – 3rd District
David.Dennis@sedgwick.gov

Richard Ranzau – 4th District
Richard.Ranzau@sedgwick.gov

Jim Howell – 5th District
Jim.Howell@sedgwick.gov


City Manager’s Office

455 N Main St, 13th Floor
Wichita, Ks 67202
(316) 268-4351
(316) 858-7712

Robert Layton, City Manager
rlayton@wichita.gov

City of Wichita Park Board

455 N Main St, 11th Floor
Wichita, Ks 67202
(316) 268-4361
(316) 858-7768

Ron Allen – District 1 (316) 688-1034

Chris Clark – District 2 
chris.allen.clark@gmail.com

Hoyt Hillman – District 3 (316) 686-7105
hoythillman@sbcglobal.net

Tori Deatherage – District 4 (316) 680-7755
torideatherage@gmail.com

Troy Palmer – District 5 (316) 687-9797
troy@simonpalmerproperties.com

Cindy Claycomb – District 6 (President) (316) 655-9508
cindyclaycomb@cox.net

Bill Ramsey – (At-Large) (316) 210-7468
bill@thebillguy.com

Troy Houtman – (Ex-Officio) (316) 268-4628 Director, Park & Recreation Dept
thoutman@wichita.gov

Penny Garding – (Clerk of the Board) (316) 268-4628 Director, Park & Recreation Dept
pgarding@wichita.gov

City of Goddard

Staff

Silcott , Brian  City Administrator  Email  (316) 794-2441
Constantino, Justin  Assistant to City Administrator  Email  (316) 794-2441
DeVaney, Lorie  Assistant City Clerk  Email  (316) 794-2441
Laymon, Teri  City Clerk  Email  (316) 794-2441
Goddard City Council

Marcey Gregory, Mayor  (316) 208-3262  gregory@goddardks.gov
Chris Hahn, Council President  (316) 209-7768  hahn@goddardks.gov
Enrique Ramirez  (316) 204-4644  ramirez@goddardks.gov
Joe Torske  (316) 461-8026  torske@goddardks.gov
Larry Zimmerman  (316) 393-4754  zimmerman@goddardks.gov

City of Garden Plain

505 N Main
P.O. Box 336
Garden Plain, KS  67050
(316) 531-2321

Council Members:
Larry Lampe, Mayor
Kevin Hammond
Paul McPhillips, Sr
Joe Fisher
Jenny Zoglman
Charlie Bales

Kimberly C McCormick, City Clerk (316) 531-2321
cityclerk@gardenplain.com
Bonnie Kopper, Deputy City Clerk  (316) 531-2321
deputycityclerk@gardenplain.com
Robert Sharp, Chief of Police  (316) 531-2222
rgsharpgppd@gardenplain.com